Help
Here are some links to help you search for, obtain, and use information effectively, efficiently, and ethically.
- Searching Tips
- InterLibrary Loan We can borrow books and articles from other libraries all over the country. FOR FREE!
- Citation help MLA, APA, Chicago, ASA, etc.
google scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library. Fill out this form to do that.
(search results open in a new window)
Databases
Try these science-related databases to find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers.
- Birds of North America Online
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. - American Chemical Society Journals

Peer-reviewed journals of ACS include full text articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. - Applied Science & Technology (Wilson)

Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Select "Applied Science and Technology" from the Subject Area pull down menu. - GreenFILE

Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. - History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

International bibliography of history of science, technology, and medicine. - General Science Full Text

Covers everything from supernovas to marine pollution; contains information on a variety of scientific topics. - MEDLINE

Index to all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. - PLoS Biology A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science.
- Scirus
comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. It allows researchers to search for journal content, scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information. - SciFinder Scholar

Contains literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
***New users must register (for free): see link below - SciFinder Scholar - New User registration
Register as a SciFinder user. Use link above once you are a registered user.
More Articles
Try these general databases and websites to find even more articles.
- Academic OneFile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering a wide variety of topics from the world's leading journals and reference sources. - Article First
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals; covers periodicals in business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture. - JSTOR

Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. - OAIster

Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections. - ProQuest Central

Covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text. - Science Daily: Biology Articles

One of the Internet’s most popular science news web sites. Contains access to the latest in science news as well as researched articles. - Scientific American - Biology

Links to chemistry articles that appeared in Scientific American.
Librarian Profile |
Christina RadisauskasContact Info:
Grace Hauenstein Library
Aquinas College
616 632 2124
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Chemistry, Math, Science, Environmental Studies
Grace Hauenstein Library
Aquinas College
616 632 2124
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Chemistry, Math, Science, Environmental Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait