Guide to Resources in history
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2014
Also check out the Related Databases and Helpful General Databases below!
Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- ProQuest Central
Periodical database that covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text.
- Project Muse
Full text of more than 200 interdisciplinary, peer reviewed scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the
database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link"
or "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Full text periodical database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- In the First Person
"Aa free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world."
- Making of America
"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
- Papers of George Washington
"A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers to date in one online publication. The search may be conducted on full text and by date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series. The exceptional indexing of the individual print volumes is combined here into a single master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked."
Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not
available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access
through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal
the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't
work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.