Help
Here are some links to help you search for, obtain, and use information effectively, efficiently, and ethically.
- InterLibrary Loan We can borrow books and articles from other libraries all over the country. FOR FREE!
- Citation help MLA, APA, Chicago, ASA, etc.
Google Scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
(search results open in a new window)
A Note about Finding Full Text Articles
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link" or "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
Subject Databases
Also check out the Related Databases and Helpful General Databases below!
- America: History and Life

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. - American National Biography

Offers full text portraits of more than 17,400 American men and women. - Early English Books Online

Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700. - Historical New York Times

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the NYT. - Humanities Full Text (Wilson)

Covers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, book reviews, etc. - JSTOR

Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Related Databases
- ATLA Religion

Index to articles from religious and theological literature. - GenderWatch

Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. - In the First Person "Aa free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world."
- Making of America
"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
Helpful General Databases
- General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics; some full text. - Project Muse
Full text of more than 200 interdisciplinary, peer reviewed scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics. - ProQuest Central

Covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text.
My Profile |
616.632.2130
1607 Robinson Rd SE
Grand Rapids MI 49506
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait