Campaigns and VotingGeneralInternationalU.S. Government - LegislationU.S. Government Information
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Political Science 

Last update: Jul 20th, 2009 URL: http://aquinas.libguides.com/polisci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Help

Here are some links to help you search for, obtain, and use information effectively, efficiently, and ethically.

  • InterLibrary Loan  
    We can borrow books and articles from other libraries all over the country. FOR FREE!
  • Citation help  
    MLA, APA, Chicago, ASA, etc.

Google Scholar

Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.


(search results open in a new window)
 
 

A Note about Finding Full Text Articles

These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.

If the article you want is not available full text in the database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link" or "Check for full text" or something like that.

This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!

Subject Databases

  • (ProQuest) Social Science Journals  
      
    Full-text periodicals covering the social sciences
  • America: History and Life  
      
    Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  
      
    A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
  • CountryWatch  
      
    Provides country-specific intelligence and data.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full text reports.
  • CQ Weekly  
      
    Coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, etc., from 1983 to the present.
  • Global Issues in Context  
      
    Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
  • GPO Monthly Catalog  
      
    Covers all types of U.S. government documents.
  • Social Sciences Full Text  
      
    Index of articles on the social sciences, with some full text.

Law Related Databases

  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (Wilson)  
      
    Index to international legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence, with some full text. Select "Legal" from the Subject Area pull down menu.
  • LegalTrac  
      
    LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 highly regarded legal publications.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic  
      
    Extensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, legal and other types of resources; full text

Helpful General Sources

  • JSTOR  
      
    Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic  
      
    Extensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, legal and other types of resources; full text
  • Project Muse  
      
    Full text of more than 200 interdisciplinary, peer reviewed scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
  • ProQuest Central  
      
    Covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text.
 

My Profile

Profile ImageShellie Jeffries


Contact Info:
616.632.2130
1607 Robinson Rd SE
Grand Rapids MI 49506
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait