Help
Here are some links to help you search for, obtain, and use information effectively, efficiently, and ethically.
- InterLibrary Loan We can borrow books and articles from other libraries all over the country. FOR FREE!
- Citation help MLA, APA, Chicago, ASA, etc.
Google Scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
(search results open in a new window)
A Note about Finding Full Text Articles
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link" or "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
Psychology Databases
- (ProQuest) Psychology Journals
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications - PsycINFO

Contains literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Additional Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete

Provides access to journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. - Social Sciences Full Text

Index of articles on the social sciences, with some full text. - SocIndex

SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. - Sociological Abstracts

Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
General databases
This list is a combination of general periodical indexes, reference sources, periodical indexes, and other resources such as e-books and test preparation guides.
- Academic OneFile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering a wide variety of topics from the world's leading journals and reference sources. - America's News Magazines Full text articles of 29 popular magazines, including Entertainment Weekly, Essence, Fortune, In Style, Newsweek, Real Simple, and Time.
- Article First
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals; covers periodicals in business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture. - Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica - CQ Researcher

Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full text reports. - Custom Newspapers
Full text newspapers from around the Country and the World. - ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
Index to a collection of scholarly journals covering a variety of subjects. - Expanded Academic ASAP
Access scholarly journals from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, many with full text and images. - General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics; some full text. - General Reference Center Gold

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. - Global Issues in Context

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - Historical New York Times

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the NYT. - JSTOR

Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. - Lexis/Nexis Academic
Extensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, legal and other types of resources; full text - Learning Express Library
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official tests,exercises, and skill-building courses. - National Newspaper Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexing for New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal. - NetLibrary

Over 14,000 full text online books covering a wide variety of topics. - Omnifile Full Text Mega (Wilson)
Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications. Coverage back as early as 1982. - ProQuest Central

Covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text. - World Almanac
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. - World Book Online
Full text version of the World Book Encyclopedia. - WorldCat

Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
My Profile |
616.632.2130
1607 Robinson Rd SE
Grand Rapids MI 49506
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait