Subject Guides
Use these links to be connected to lists of research and periodical databases specifically chosen by topic.
A
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest)
Index of early 3000 worldwide business periodicals. - ABI/Inform Trade & Industry (ProQuest)
Search more than 1200 business periodicals with a trade or industry focus. - Academic OneFile (MeL)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering a wide variety of topics from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Accounting and Tax (ProQuest)
Provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information. - America's Newspapers (MeL) Full text articles of 10 news magazines, including Newsweek, Foreign Affairs and U.S. News & World Report. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
- America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. - American Chemical Society Journals
Peer-reviewed journals of ACS include full text articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. - American National Biography
Offers full text portraits of more than 17,400 American men and women. - Applied Science & Technology (ASTA) Abstracts
Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Select "Applied Science and Technology" from the Subject Area pull down menu. - Art and Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive database that provides cover-to-cover indexing for more than 730 publications. Subjects covered include art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, costume design, sculpture, graphic arts, and much more. - Art Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Provides citations to information from leading publications in the world of the arts, with some full text. Select "Art" from the Subject Area pull down menu. - Article First (MeL)
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals; covers periodicals in business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - ArtSTOR
- ATLA Religion
Index to articles from religious and theological literature.
B
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (MeL)
Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 biographical reference sources. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Biography Index
Index to a wide range of biographical material. - Biological & Agricultural (FirstSearch)
Index to leading publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Select "Biological and Agricultural" from the Subject Area pull down menu. BioAgIndex - Biology Journals (ProQuest)
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics, with some full text. - Birds of North America Online
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. - Book Review
Reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books. - Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica - Business & Company ASAP
Provides information on companies, markets and industries, from market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. - Business & Company Resource Center (MeL)
An integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Business Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Index to leading English-language business periodicals.
C
- CAMIO (MeL)
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - CINAHL Basic (MeL)
Resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. - Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. - Computer Database (InfoTrac) (MeL)
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - CountryWatch
Provides country-specific intelligence and data. - CQ Researcher
Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full text reports. - CQ Weekly
Coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, etc., from 1983 to the present. - Credo Reference
302 full text reference books from 59 different publishers covering a wide variety of topics. - Criminal Justice Periodicals (ProQuest)
U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. - Curriculum Crafter
Unique, full featured design tool that helps you customize your curriculum--and meet state education standards. For use by Aquinas College faculty and students. You will need to login to this site. - Custom Newspapers
Full text newspapers from around the Country and the World.
E
- Early English Books Online
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700. - ECO (Electronic Collections Online) (MeL)
Index to a collection of scholarly journals covering a variety of subjects. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Education Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Index to leading publications in the field of education. Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college. - Education Journals (ProQuest)
Full-text journals in education and related fields. - Educator's Reference Complete (MeL)
Selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many reference sources in the field of education. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - ERIC
Provides access to all facets of educational-related literature. - Essay and General Literature Index
Find contents in collected works focusing on humanities and social sciences. - Expanded Academic ASAP (MeL)
Access scholarly journals from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, many with full text and images. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
F
- Films on Demand
Streaming videos of films in the humanities and social sciences. - FirstSearch
A collection of 16 databases, you can search up to three simultaneously.
G
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - GenderWatch
Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. - General Business File ASAP (MeL)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - General OneFile (MeL)
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics; some full text. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - General Reference Center Gold (MeL)
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - General Science Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Covers everything from supernovas to marine pollution; contains information on a variety of scientific topics. - Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - GPO Monthly Catalog (MeL)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Grand Rapids Press (MeL)
Full text of the GR Press, from 2000 to the present. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Graphic Novels Core Collection
Highlights approximately 2,000 recommended graphic novel titles with descriptive and evaluative annotations. - GreenFILE
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. - GREENR
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. - Grove Art Online
Online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present. - Grzimeks Animals Online
Information on more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more.
H
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (MeL)
Provides access to medical reference materials. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Health Reference Center Academic (MeL)
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Heritage of the Printed Book (MeL)
Catalog of European printing from the 15th century to the middle of the 19th century. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Historical New York Times
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the NYT. - History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (MeL)
International bibliography of history of science, technology, and medicine. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Humanities Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Covers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, book reviews, etc. - Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
I
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (FirstSearch)
Index to international legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence, with some full text. Select "Legal" from the Subject Area pull down menu. - Informe! (MeL)
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - InfoTrac (MeL)
Collection of databases covering a wide variety of topics. Search one or many. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
J
- JSTOR
Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. - Junior Edition (MeL)
With over 330 titles, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
K
- Kid's Edition- K12 (MeL)
This periodical database, with almost 125 titles, is designed for elementary school students. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Kids InfoBits (MeL)
A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
L
- Learning Express Library (MeL)
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official tests,exercises, and skill-building courses. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Legal Periodical Index
International legal information covering all areas of jurisprudence. - LegalTrac (MeL)
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 highly regarded legal publications. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Lexis/Nexis Academic
Extensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, legal and other types of resources; full text - Library Literature (FirstSearch)
Index to materials on libraries and information science. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes journals, books, research reports and proceedings in librarianship. - Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information on authors, overviews of written works, full-text literary criticism and reviews.
M
- MathSciNet
Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. - MEDLINE (MeL)
Index to all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - MLA
Modern Languages Association Bibliography; index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. - Michigan Newspapers (MeL)
Access to the full text of the Detroit News, (1999 to the present) and the Grand Rapids Press (2000 to the present). Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online (MeL)
Houses 130 works totaling over seventeen thousand pages of text that cover the history of the land that would become the State of Michigan in 1835.
N
- National Newspaper Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexing for New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal. - New York Times (InfoTrac) (MeL)
Full Text from 1995. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - NetLibrary (MeL)
Over 14,000 full text online books covering a wide variety of topics. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) Search for articles or use the "Browse" Tab for video training programs Cultural Competency Briefs.
O
- OAIster (MeL)
Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections. - Oxford English Dictionary
Online version of the OED, a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. - Oxford Reference Online
Offers over 175 fully text, cross-searchable reference works published by Oxford University Press, covering a wide variety of topics.
P
- PapersFirst (MeL)
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. - Physical Education Index
Features content ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. - PILOTS Database
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. - ProceedingsFirst (MeL)
Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Project Muse
Full text of more than 200 interdisciplinary, peer reviewed scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics. - ProQuest Central
Covers of a broad range of subject areas. Contains some full text. - Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications - PsycArticles
A database of full-text articles on applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. We recommend you search PsycINFO for a comprehensive search on topics in psychology. - PsycINFO
Contains literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology; includes some full text.
R
RIA Checkpoint Users: You will need to add an exception to this database; click in the radio button at the bottom of the screen next to "Accept this certificate permanently" and then click on "OK"
- Readers' Guide Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Index of articles from popular magazines. - RIA Checkpoint for accounting students
Now includes FASB and IASB standards!
RIA Checkpoint Users: You will need to add an exception to this database; click in the radio button at the bottom of the screen next to "Accept this certificate permanently" and then click on "OK" - RIA Checkpoint for everyone else
Now includes FASB and IASB standards!
RIA Checkpoint Users: You will need to add an exception to this database; click in the radio button at the bottom of the screen next to "Accept this certificate permanently" and then click on "OK"
S
- Safari Tech Books
Collection of current books on software, hardware and other computer issues. - Science Journals (ProQuest)
Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. - SciFinder Scholar
Contains literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
***New users must register (for free): see link below - SciFinder Scholar - New User registration
Register as a SciFinder user. Use link above once you are a registered user. - Social Sciences Abstracts (FirstSearch)
Index of articles on the social sciences, with some full text. - Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
Full-text periodicals covering the social sciences - Social Services Abstracts
Focuses on social work, human services, and related areas. - Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. - SnapShot Series (ProQuest)
The Snapshot International Group Series of 4,600 reports is designed to provide an instant overview of a market, and the data is supplied in both graphical and tabular format for ease of interpretation and analysis. - Student Edition (MeL)
With over 1100 titles, this periodical database is designed for high-school students and provides access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, etc. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - SocIndex
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
T
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
U
- UniWorld
Directory of American companies that have a substantial investment in overseas operations. Also a directory of foreign companies that have a substantial investment in American operations. - Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
W
- World Almanac (MeL)
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - World Book Online
Full text version of the World Book Encyclopedia. - WorldCat (MeL)
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library. - Wilson Select Plus (FirstSearch) (MeL)
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Provided by the Michigan Electronic Library.
Research and Citation help
- Full Text Journal List Find out if we have the full-text access to a journal you're looking for. Be sure to search by the title of the JOURNAL, not the title of the article.
- Research Tips Use this guide to help you with any aspect of the research process - from picking a topic, to making sure the information you find is valid and useful.
- Citation Styles Make sure you cite your sources correctly. MLA, APA, & Chicago style examples, and more!
- RefWorks Helps you to gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Create an individual account to use. Your computer may warn you that this is not a trusted site. It is! Just click on "trust content."
**Off campus users may be asked for a "Subscriber Group Code" -- Aquinas' is RWAquinasC.
Description
Loading content... please wait


