Welcome to the SY101 Web Page
Academic Integrity
Plagiarism and other forms of academic dishonesty are taken very seriously at Aquinas College.
If you have any questions about what academic integrity and plagiarism are, check out the tutorials (they're short -- and, actually, fun!) below:
Finding Sources: Sociology Databases
Start your research with Sociology Abstracts. Thisis the primary database for Sociological research.
- Sociological Abstracts

Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Finding Sources: Related Databases
If you do not locate enough sources using Sociological Abstracts, you may consider using one of these other databases.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete

Provides access to journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. - GenderWatch

Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. - JSTOR

Complete full text archives of over 850 core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. - PsycINFO

Contains literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology; includes some full text.
Using CQ Researcher
Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- CQ Researcher

Coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Full text reports.
Finding Overview Sources
You'll need to locate at least one Reference source for your literature review. Here are some books you might like to investigate, arranged by topic.
General Sociology books
21st century sociology : a reference handbook
ISBN/ISSN: 1412916089
EBook
Blackwell dictionary of sociology: a user's guide to sociological language
Call Number: EBook
ISBN/ISSN: 0631216812
Cambridge dictionary of sociology
Call Number: EBook
Examines both American and European traditions and approaches to sociology. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism
Collins dictionary of sociology
Call Number: EBook
ISBN/ISSN: 0004708040
Dictionary of sociology
Call Number: REF HM425 .D5735 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0198609868
Encyclopedia of sociology
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000 (five volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0028648536
International encyclopedia of sociology
Call Number: REF HM17 .I53 1984
ISBN/ISSN: 0826402380
Infancy, Childhood and Adolescence
Adolescence in America : an encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HQ796 .A33247 2001 (2 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 1576072053
Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society
Call Number: REF HQ767.84 .E53 2003 (3 volumes)
Encyclopedia of juvenile justice
Call Number: REF HV9104 .E58 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761923586
Infancy in America : an encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HQ774 .I528 2001 (2 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 1576072207
Mental Health Issues
- Encyclopedia of mental health
Call Number: REF RC437 .K34 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0816040621
Encyclopedia of mental health
Call Number: REF RA790.5 .E53 1998 (3 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0122266757
Encyclopedia of suicide
Call Number: REF HV6545 .E87 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0816045259
Gale encyclopedia of mental disorders
Call Number: REF RC437 .G35 2003 (2 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0787657689
Social Issues
Encyclopedia of AIDS : a social, political, cultural, and scientific record of the HIV epidemic
Call Number: REF RA644.A25 E5276 1998
ISBN/ISSN: 1579580076- Encyclopedia of American social movements
Call Number: REF HN57 .E594 2004 (4 volumes)
Encyclopedia of child abuse
Call Number: REF HV6626.5 .C57 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0816040605
Encyclopedia of crime & justice
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E52 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 002865319X
Gambling in America : an encyclopedia of history, issues, and society
Call Number: REF GV1301 .T47 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 1576071596
Encyclopedia of homelessness
Call Number: REF HV4493 .E53 2004 (2 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0761927514
Women, Gender and Sex
American masculinities : a historical encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HQ1090.3 .A453 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761925406
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
Call Number: EBook
The Encyclopedia of Gender covers study of gender differences, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage, from A (Abortion and Its Health Effects) to W (Working Environments), includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc.
Girlhood in America : an encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HQ777 .G5745 2001 (2 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 1576072061
Human sexuality : an encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HQ9 .H846 1994
ISBN/ISSN: 0824079728
International encyclopedia of marriage and family
Call Number: REF HQ9 .E52 2003 (4 volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0028656725
My Profile |
616.632.2130
1607 Robinson Rd SE
Grand Rapids MI 49506
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait