Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This database currently includes The (London) Times Digital Archive and Nineteenth (19th) Century US Newspapers Digital Archive.
Access to unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes journals, magazines, regional publications, books, and NGO and government reports.
"Aa digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
"A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers to date in one online publication. The search may be conducted on full text and by date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series. The exceptional indexing of the individual print volumes is combined here into a single master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked."
Written by librarians, this website provides insight into researching primary resources on the web and guidelines about evaluating what you find.
A Note about Finding Full Text Articles
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the
database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link"
or "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not
available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access
through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal
the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't
work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment.
The Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history. Since its founding in 1907 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association, the OAH has promoted the study and teaching of the American past through its many activities.
Use any of these links to create citations in a particular format. Be sure to choose the proper style (MLA, APA, etc) and material type (electronic journal, website, book, etc). CAUTION: YOU are responsible for ensuring that your citations are formatted correctly. These tools will help you, but are not perfect!