- American Experience
View complete episodes of select films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series.
- American Indian Film Gallery
Vintage motion pictures offering rich perspectives on the American Indian experience. The site organizes titles by tribes, linking to films for more than 100 tribes. Apart from what displays in the film itself, no additional information (publication date, running time, etc.) is provided.
- American Rhetoric
Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events."
- Annenberg Media
The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others.
- The Archive of American Television
Hosted by the TV Academy Foundation this archive provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.
Presents a collection of vivid wildlife films and still photographs, with more than 3,500 of the world's leading filmmakers and photographers actively contributing to the project. Also included are teaching resources organized by age, games, and other activities.
- C-Span Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's. CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakes, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.
A partnership between NBC and ABC (Disney), Hulu is predominantly a site for television content.
- The Internet Archive
The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
- Media that Matters Film Festival
Annual collection showcasing twelve short films on important topics of the day. Seven years of films available on the site, organized alphabetically by title, by year. A simple search interface facilitates finding films by keyword.
Provides access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Programs are divided into chapters and have closed captioning.
- PBS Learning Media
Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers. This site is free but requires users to register.
- PBS Video
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.)
- P.O.V. Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
- Snag Films
Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films library includes more than 850 films.
- TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design
Makes available the best talks and performances from TED and partners. More than 500 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks feature closed captions in English, and many feature subtitles in various languages. Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
- WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.