Help
Here are some links to help you search for, obtain, and use information effectively, efficiently, and ethically.
Local News Sources
- Regional Business News (MeL) This link opens in a new windowprovides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
- Grand Rapids Business JournalSince 1983, the Grand Rapids Business Journal has been West Michigan’s primary and most-trusted source of local business news. The biweekly print edition of the Business Journal, a must-read for the area’s top decision-makers, is known as the business newspaper of metro Grand Rapids, Holland, Muskegon and all of West Michigan.
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Enormous collection of full-text magazines and peer-reviewed journals for STEM, social science, and humanities research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCitations and some full text access to peer reviewed journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline and Archive. Contains journals, SSRN working papers, newspapers, and country and industry reports and data.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex to leading business periodicals.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearchm; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports, and Snapshots.
- DemographicsNow: Business & People (MeL) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive business and demographic information valuable to assess business viability, create sales leads and marketing mailing lists, complete location analyses and business plans, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors and more.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source (MeL) This link opens in a new windowFull-text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, journals, legal and other types of resources; full text
- Small Business Reference Center (MeL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Include interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
Other Resources
- Upjohn InsitituteThis repository presents the research and writings of Upjohn Institute researchers and labor economists as well as the Upjohn Press books published since 1980.
Sustainable Business Resources
- RemakeWe are a community of fashion lovers, women rights advocates, and environmentalists on a mission to change the industry’s harmful practices on people and our planet. We make sustainability accessible and inclusive across our three pillars of work: education, advocacy, and transparency.
- Good On YouThe global fashion industry has a huge problem, waste and human rights abuses. Like you, we care for our planet, people and animals, and we want to live in a world that's sustainable and fair. We are a group of campaigners, fashion professionals, scientists, writers and developers who have come together to drive that change.
