Databases
- Humanities Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new windowCovers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, reviews, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information on authors, overviews of written works, full-text literary criticism and reviews.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCitations and some full text access to peer reviewed journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
Google Scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
Theater Websites
- Variety Stage: 1870-1920Features 300+ English and Yiddish language play scripts, 140+ playbills and programs, many motions pictures, sound recordings and a substantial collections of ephemera
- The Complete Works of William ShakespeareContains full text versions of Shakespeare's plays as well as some poetry.
- The Costume PageA comprehensive site exploring the world of costume from tying a tie to making Elizabethan corsets.
- CurtainUpThe Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features, Annotated Listings
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia: Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of CongressExplore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress.
- Musicals101.com - The Cyber Encyclopedia of MusicalsMusicals101.com features separate histories for musical theatre, film, television and cabaret, with a bibliography and a collection of dates and figures called "The Musicals Index."
- Backstage: The Actor's ResourceBack Stage is the actor's resource-a brand that aims to give actors all the information they need to succeed. In practical terms, it is actually two products: a national newspaper and a website.
- The WWW Virtual Library for Theatre and DramaHere you will find pointers to resources in more than 50 countries around the world, for professionals, amateurs, academics and students of all ages.
Library Links
Department Info
- AQ Theatre Department Web SiteThis page features a description of the Theatre faculty, theatre curriculum, and Theatre performances at Aquinas College.
