Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is your one-stop shop to music resources. Featured on this page are database and reference links that the Grace Hauenstein Library subscribes to. Also, there are links to websites that might prove helpful when conducting research in music
Humanities Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Covers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, reviews, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of peer reviewed scholarly journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan Link
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. Here is why:
Google Scholar will flag articles owned by AQ. If you are on a networked computer this will work seamlessly.
If you are on your laptop or a personal computer from home. do the following:
- Go to Google Scholar and click on the three horizontal lines on the left corner of your screen
- Choose Settings
- A new menu will open, choose Library Links
- In the search box, type in Aquinas.
- Then click all of the check boxes that apply to Aquinas College in Michigan. Be sure to check the one that says "Test" as well.
- Finshed? Click Save.
If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
A search engine that allows searching by artist name, album title, song title, label and music style. Biographies, full discographies and album reviews are available.
The Classical Music Navigator
A well-organized and up-to-date site for garnishing quick information about composers
The Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum (ISM) unveiled its Digital Mozart Edition (DME), a reproduction of the new collected edition of Mozart's works (the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe) in a digitized format, which enables scholars and performers to peruse Mozart's music on the Internet. In addition to reproducing Mozart's works digitally, it aims toward easier access to different variants and versions of individual compositions, and simultaneous access to scores and critical commentaries.
Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
Images from 3,000+ music pieces drawn from Duke University's collection.
The Music Publisher's Association of the United States: Directories
Current directory information for music publishers and an index of publishers imprints.
Sibley Music Library
The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library is the largest academic music library in North America. It has been engaged in an NEH project to digitize its public-domain music scores, emphasizing scores not widely held by other libraries and not digitized elsewhere. To date the library has digitized almost 12,000 publications, including, in addition to scores, some books and a variety of handbooks, guides, and theses.
SuperSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, and more!