Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles: Education Databases
Education Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Index to leading publications in the field of education. Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in education and related fields.
Education Source (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (MeL) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is essential too for education researchers of all kinds.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
Academic Search Complete (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Enormous collection of full-text magazines and peer-reviewed journals for STEM, social science, and humanities research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica (High School Edition)
Created and is currently maintained by the New York State Education Department. Anyone can download free materials, including all available curriculum materials.
OER Resources: the Michigan Open Book Project
The Michigan Open Book Project, is a multi-year initiative funded as part of the Technology Readiness Infrastructure Grant (TRIG) from the Michigan Department of Education. It is designed to empower groups of master K-12 teachers to come together, collaborate and develop an open education resource for use in Michigan classrooms. To date 13 textbooks have been authored and made available. All of these eTextbooks run on iOS, OSX, Android, Windows and Chrome platforms and they have recently been added to MeLCat where you can search for them by all viable methods.