History Databases
Also check out the Related Databases and Helpful General Databases below!
- London Times: Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe (London) Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this historical source. This collection is part of Gale Primary Sources.
- American Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it.
- History Reference Center (MeL) This link opens in a new windowProvides historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
- Humanities Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new windowCovers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, reviews, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), etc.
- The New York Times - Digital Access This link opens in a new window
To create or renew your NYTimes account you will need to do the following: 1) be within Aquinas college campus, 2) using a campus computer and finally 3) use your @aquinas.edu email to create or renew you NYTimes account.
- Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigital images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. This collection is part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery (SAS): A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
Helpful General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCitations and some full text access to peer reviewed journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
Related Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess to unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes journals, magazines, regional publications, books, and NGO and government reports.
- In the First Person"Aa free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world."
- Making of America"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
- Papers of George Washington"A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers to date in one online publication. The search may be conducted on full text and by date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series. The exceptional indexing of the individual print volumes is combined here into a single master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked."
- Alexander Hamilton PapersThe papers of Alexander Hamilton, consisting of approximately 12,000 items dating from 1708 to 1917, consist of his personal and public correspondence, drafts of his writings (although not his Federalist essays), and correspondence among members of the Hamilton and Schuyler families.
A Note about Finding Full Text Articles
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the database you're searching, look for a link button that says "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
Google Scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
Library Links
Professional Organizations and Associations
- American Historical AssociationThe American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment.
- Organization of American HistoriansThe Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history. Since its founding in 1907 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association, the OAH has promoted the study and teaching of the American past through its many activities.
Zotero
Use Zotero to create citations in a particular format. Be sure to choose the proper style (MLA, APA, etc) and material type (electronic journal, website, book, etc). CAUTION: YOU are responsible for ensuring that your citations are formatted correctly. This tool will help you, but is not perfect!
- Zoteroa free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives in your Firefox browser itself and allows for collaboration.
Creative Commons license
This work by Shellie Jeffries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.