Finding Books on Your Topic
You'll need to locate some books about your individual or event. This library catalog will help you. Remember to get started early, because you may have to InterLibrary Loan some titles and that takes time (5 - 10 business days).
- MeLCatSearch library catalogs throughout the state of Michigan.
Finding Biographical Information
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica (High School Edition)
- Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new windowIndex to a wide range of biographical material, from antiquity to present.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFind up-to-date biographical information on authors, overviews of written works, full-text literary criticism and reviews.
Finding Articles on Your Event or Individual
Not all of these databases contain full text articles. But don't despair! If the article you want isn't full text in the database you're searching, just look for a link that says "360 Link" or "Click for full text" or "Check for fulltext." If the article is available in another database, that link will find it.
- Humanities Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new windowCovers diverse subject areas of the humanities, including feature articles, reviews, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCitations and some full text access to peer reviewed journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
My Profile
Zotero
Use Zotero to create citations in a particular format. Be sure to choose the proper style (MLA, APA, etc) and material type (electronic journal, website, book, etc). CAUTION: YOU are responsible for ensuring that your citations are formatted correctly. This tool will help you, but is not perfect!
- Zoteroa free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives in your Firefox browser itself and allows for collaboration.
Academic Integrity
Plagiarism and other forms of academic dishonesty are taken very seriously at Aquinas College.
If you have any questions about what academic integrity and plagiarism are, check out the tutorials (they're short -- and, actually, fun!) below: