SuperSearch
Political Science Databases
- Congressional Research Service This link opens in a new windowCRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in connection with CRS’s institutional role.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess to unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes journals, magazines, regional publications, books, and NGO and government reports.
- Political Science Complete (MeL) This link opens in a new windowCovers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
- ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new windowProvides some full-text access to leading political science and international relations journals.
History Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigital images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. This collection is part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery (SAS): A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
Helpful General Sources
- Academic Search Complete (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Enormous collection of full-text magazines and peer-reviewed journals for STEM, social science, and humanities research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- The New York Times - Digital Access This link opens in a new window
To create or renew your NYTimes account you will need to do the following: 1) be within Aquinas college campus, 2) using a campus computer and finally 3) use your @aquinas.edu email to create or renew you NYTimes account.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCitations and some full text access to peer reviewed journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
A Note about Finding Full Text Articles
These links will take you to databases that will help you find articles on your topic.
If the article you want is not available full text in the database you're searching, look for a link button that says "360 Link" or "Check for full text" or something like that.
This will check to see if maybe the article is in another database. If not, you can always interlibrary loan it. For free!
Law Related Databases
- Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of online newspapers, magazines, journals, legal and other types of resources; full text
Google Scholar
Sometimes, Google Scholar is helpful. If the text to a certain article is not available through Google Scholar, don't fret. We may have access through one of our subscription databases. Click here to find out by typing the name of the journal the article appears in (not the title of the article). If this doesn't work, you can request that we get it for you from another library (for free). Fill out this form to do that.
My Profile
Department Info
Library Links
Zotero
Use Zotero to create citations in a particular format. Be sure to choose the proper style (MLA, APA, etc) and material type (electronic journal, website, book, etc). CAUTION: YOU are responsible for ensuring that your citations are formatted correctly. This tool will help you, but is not perfect!
- Zoteroa free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives in your Firefox browser itself and allows for collaboration.