Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Sociology sources
Social Science Databases
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, and economics.
Social Sciences Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new window
Index of articles on the social sciences, with some full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text scientific database offering peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters. To access full-text of articles, use the "get access" link. Articles will be delivered via email.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
International periodical literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Access to unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes journals, magazines, regional publications, books, and NGO and government reports.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text access to landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
Provides some full-text access to leading political science and international relations journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers of a broad range of subject areas including: art, business, education, health, law, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and culture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text archives of many core scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Search the scholarly side of Google for journal articles and e-books.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window
This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Interesting Sociology Resources
A "a website for sociology instructors (and students) that tags video clips by sociological themes so instructors (and students) can easily search and find clips appropriate for various lecture topics."
"Sociological Images is designed to encourage all kinds of people to exercise and develop their sociological imagination by presenting brief sociological discussions of compelling and timely imagery that spans the breadth of sociological inquiry."
Social Sciences Research Network
"Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed...of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 490,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 399,400 downloadable full text PDFs. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based publications. "
Make an appointment
Use this if you'd like a librarian to set aside a chunk of time specifically for you.
If we don't have something you want, let us get it for you. Allow 1-2 weeks for delivery
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, and annotate, cite and share research.
MLA, APA, & Chicago style examples, and more!