Online Social Justice Sources
- Social Justice Organizations - Guide
A guide for social justice organizations in the United States.
- Human Rights Watch
One of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.
- United Nations - Human Rights
United Nations' pages on Human Rights
- Amnesty International
A worldwide movement of people who campaign for the international recognition and respect of human rights.
- Invisible Children
One of the leading non-profit organizations battling the use of child soldiers.
- National Organization for Women
Resources and advocacy on a range of women's issues.
- Gapminder - Global Indicator Statistics
Allows the comparison of countries by displaying charts and maps for some 500 indicators (relating to health, income, education, the environment, and more).
- OECD Better Life Index
Compares countries' well being across 11 factors.
- HumanRights.gov
From the U.S. Department of State. This site includes Country Reports for Human Rights Practices
- AlertNet
Humanitarian aid sites, country profiles, information on human rights issues, current events.
Catholic Social Justice Teachings
- Catholic Social Justice and Catholic Social Teachings Subject GuideThis subject guide from St. John's University "Reviews tenets of Teachings on Catholic Social Justice, and provides examples of applications of Social Justice in different academic disciplines."
Research Resources
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowShowcases unique, independent voices from many grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess to unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes journals, magazines, regional publications, books, and NGO and government reports.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowDisciplines covered range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, and economics.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (MeL) This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles on the social sciences, with some full text.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts to articles dealing with social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development..
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowInternational periodical literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction.
- Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new windowFeatures sustainability-focused articles, benchmarks, and best practices. Includes access to journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications.
Social Justice Journals
Boston College Journal of Law and Social Justice: "publish[es] articles that discuss issues affecting underrepresented populations, human and civil rights, immigration, women’s and children’s issues, and issues of disproportionate economic impact"
- Also available full text from 1999 to the present in LexisNexis Academic and 2011 to the present in ProQuest Central,
Contemporary Readings in Law and Social Justice
- Available full text from 2009 to the present in ProQuest Central
International Journal of Engineering, Social Justice, and Peace: " dedicated to the theory and practice of engineering that extends social justice and peace in the world"
Journal of Social Justice: a free online peer-review journal
Law, Social Justice, and Global Development Journal: "a peer- reviewed electronic law journal established to further the debate on the impacts of globalisation on social development and justice"
Seattle Journal for Social Justice: "Publishes writings that reflect theoretical, literary and hands-on approaches toward achieving social justice"
Social Justice: A Journal of Crime, Conflict & World Order
- Available full text from 1992 to the present in AcademicOneFile, 1995 to the present in ProQuest Central, and 1999 to the present in OmniFile FullText.
Social Justice Research
- Available full text from 1997 to one year ago in ProQuest Central and 2005 to one year ago in OmniFile FullText.
Social Justice Review
- Available in the GH Library from 1985 to the present (in microfilm, bound and current periodicals)
Studies in Social Justice: "Publishes articles on issues dealing with the social, cultural, economic, political, and philosophical problems associated with struggles for social justice"
Washington and Lee Journal of Civil Rights and Social Justice
- Available full text from 2005 to the present in LexisNexis Academic
Attribution
Content on this page has been adapted from Bridgewater State University's Social Justice at BSU page,
This work by Shellie Jeffries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.